Ode To A Stranger   Leave a comment

 

 

I looked up then looked again

It couldn’t be

But I wanted it to be

The neck was thinner

And the side wasn’t quite right

But the bald patch at the back

Was bang on

 

I kept on looking because

I wanted it to be

I wanted to pretend that

It was you

That I had a few more minutes

With you again

A few minutes

 

It was reassuring, comforting

To believe that it was so

That it was you

There in body

Physically present

Back again just

A few pews away.

 

But it wasn’t you and

I knew that, as you,

No, not you

Another elderly man

Turned back to his seat

After Communion

And I sat praying

Posted June 9, 2016 by eileenmoynihan in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

