As Luck Would Have It   Leave a comment

I peered through my binoculars at the couple on the bench. I had followed them from a distance.

 Jim was my ex-boyfriend, and he was with my so-called best friend Lyn. Jim had dumped me unceremoniously last week. It came as a complete shock. I had assumed we were going to get engaged, and eventually marry. I loved Jim so much it hurt. I thought he loved me too. But clearly he didn’t, I mused.

Maybe he had been seeing Lyn behind my back, and had fallen in love with her. How could she be such a traitor? I couldn’t believe it. But the evidence was before my eyes. She had just given him a big hug.

Suddenly they both looked up and stared in my direction. Maybe they had seen the sunlight reflecting off my binoculars. I ducked quickly. I better go home, I thought. As I made my way back through the woods I saw something glinting among the leaves on the ground. I bent down to pick it up. It was a gold brooch in the shape of a four-leaved clover. A lucky charm; just what I needed now. I wiped the muck off it and pinned it on myself. I began to smile for the first time in days.

In the next week I found a fiver, won a holiday on a scratch card, got promoted at work, and got a phone-call from Jim. He asked if we could meet and talk things over. My heart leapt, but I tried to sound cool. We agreed to meet at a coffee-shop the next day. I hardly slept that night….. Was he going to tell me about Lyn, or ask if we could get back together?

The next morning I got up, showered, moisturised, applied make-up, put on a pretty dress, and added a dab of perfume. Just to be sure, I put on my lucky charm. Jim looked anxious when I met him. My stomach was churning inside, as we ordered coffee and croissants, and made small talk. Then my heart fell, as I saw Lyn walking towards our table. Jim stood up and pulled a chair out for her.

“Deirdre I’m going to tell you something, and Lyn is here to support us both.”

How patronising! Come on let’s get on with it.

“I ended our relationship because…..”

“You don’t love me anymore,” I sobbed.

“No, I do…..but I’ve been diagnosed with cancer, and I didn’t want you to feel you had to stick around.”

I gasped.

“Lyn persuaded me that I should tell you.”

“Yes, you should have told me. I love you and would do anything for you. Do you want us to be together?”

“Of course I do. I love you too!” Jim said hugging me.

“Thanks Lyn for making him see sense,” I said, blushing that I had thought badly about her.

I unpinned the lucky charm and gave it to Jim.

“This will bring you luck. We’ll fight this together, and we’ll plan our wedding, and Lyn you’ll be my bridesmaid.  Will you marry me Jim?”

“Yes Ma’am, I will!”  Jim drew himself up to attention and saluted me.

All the other customers cheered.

Posted April 9, 2014 by eileenmoynihan in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

